3 lasersThe Club has an enthusiastic sub group of members who sail RC Lasers, a quarter size model of the Olympic class Laser dinghy.  Like the dinghy it is a strictly controlled one-design class.

While the group sails to the ISAF racing rules of sailing, we do honour the club code of being friendly first and competitive second.

Each year an RC Laser Series of ten rounds is held at the club, usually from February to November. This series helps prepare sailors for State and National title events.

The RC Laser offers club members who usually sail ML45's or other classes, the opportunity to compete if they wish.

The Club has a fleet of 16 RC Lasers and there is usually a group of 10 - 15 sailors at the club each Tuesday Formal racing is generally held on one Sunday afternoon of each month as part of the RC Laser Series, and there is also a program of 4-5 handicap races held throughout the year. RC Lasers also sail on the combined classes sailing days, which are held on the first Saturday of each month.

If you would like to find out more about RC Lasers please contact Adrian Heard on 0427 833 324 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

RC Laser Results 2020

 

Paired Racing 2020

 

Saturday Sailing and RO Roster

As of Saturday 16th February 2019 RC Laser sailors will be able to join ML45 sailors for cruising on the third Saturday of each month.

RC Lasers will start after the last of the ML45s and will follow the same cruising course.

 

RC LASER Sailing Program 2020

Please note that this program is subject to change without notice

 

January – SUMMER SEASON

Wednesday 1st January 12pm New Year’s Day – Club sailing

Thursday 23rd January 5pm Port River – Twilight Series

 

February

Saturday 1st February 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Thursday 6th February 5pm Port River – Twilight Series

Saturday 15th February 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Thursday 20th February 5pm Port River – Twilight Series

Thursday 27th February 5pm Port River – Twilight Series

 

March

Saturday 7th March 12pm Mawson Lakes - Club Sailing

Thursday 12th March 5pm Port River – Twilight Series

Saturday 21st March 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Tuesday 24th March 1pm Mawson Lakes – Paired Sailing

 

April – WINTER SEASON

Saturday 4th April 12pm Mawson Lakes - Club Sailing

Saturday 18th April 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Sunday 26th April 12.30pm Mawson Lakes – Club Championship Round 1

 

May

Saturday 2nd May 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Tuesday 12th May 1pm Mawson Lakes – Handicap Racing

Saturday 16th May 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Sunday 24th May 12.30pm Mawson Lakes – Club Championship Round 2

 

June

Saturday 6th June 9.30am Mawson Lakes – Club Championship Round 3

                               12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Tuesday 16th June 1pm Mawson Lakes – Paired Sailing

Saturday 20th June 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Sunday 28th June 12.30pm Harts MillClub Championship Round 4

 

July

Saturday 4th July 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Sunday 12th July 12.30pm Mawson Lakes – Club Championship Round 5

Saturday 18th July 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Sunday 26th July 12.30pm Mawson Lakes – Club Championship Round 6

 

August

Saturday 1st August 10am Mawson Lakes – AGM & Club sailing

Sunday 2nd August 12.30pm Mawson Lakes - Club Championship Round 7

Saturday 8th August 11am Port River – Port Line Cup Regatta

Sunday 9th August 11am Port River – Port Line Cup Regatta

Saturday 15th – Sunday 16th August 1pm Mawson LakesSouth Australian RC Laser State Titles

Tuesday 29th August 1pm Mawson Lakes – Handicap Racing

 

September

Saturday 5th September 12pm Mawson Lakes - Club sailing

Sunday 13th September 1pm Dotterel Drive, West Lakes - Club Championship Round 8

Saturday 19th September Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Victorian State RC Laser Titles

Saturday 19th September 12pm Mawson Lakes - ML45 and Laser cruising

 

October – SUMMER SEASON

Saturday 3rd – Monday 5th October – Emerald Lakes, Gold Coast, Queensland, National RC Laser Titles

Saturday 3rd October 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Saturday 17th October 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Port River Twilight Series dates TBA

 

November

Saturday 7th November 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Friday 13th November – MLMYC Presentation Night

Saturday 14th November 12pm Mawson Lakes – ML45 and Laser cruising

Port River Twilight Series dates TBA

 

December

Saturday 5th December 12pm Mawson Lakes – Club sailing

Saturday 19th December 12pm Mawson Lakes - ML45 and Laser cruising

Port River Twilight Series dates TBA